CrossworDS

Posted: August 30, 2010 in 3 Hearts
Tags:

So I was going to be writing about Band Hero DS today, but it doesn’t play on my bulky first generation DS, only on the nice, shiny new DS lites. Instead, I shall talk about the other game I bought, CrossworDS. At first glance, you’d think this was simply a way to do cross word puzzles on your DS, but this game also includes wordsearch puzzles and anagrams, which made me quite happy. Also, CrossworDS has 4 levels of difficulty which can teach a person how to think in order to solve crossword puzzles. The interface is very intuitive and you can choose to get immediate feed back about mistakes. This is a feature I greatly enjoy since I have a lot of trouble solving cross word puzzles normally. Another thing I’m enjoying is the little culture references. For example: It’s a ____! (4 letters)

The anagram puzzle is pretty similar to some that I have played online and enjoyed greatly. There are a set of letters and you have to form a set of words out of those letters in different arrangements. Unlike most games of this type, there is no time limit. Instead, the game tracks how long it takes you to complete the puzzle. The wordsearch puzzle is pretty much a standard wordsearch puzzle, and they time how long the puzzle takes you.

Unlike most games that use my handwriting as input, CrossworDS doesn’t make a lot of mistakes in interpretation. This is a massive improvement over earlier DS games. Also, I like that you can save one in-progress puzzle of each type at a time, instead of only 1 puzzle of any type.

3/5 zelda heartsAnd to the rating. CrossworDS delivered what it offered. A portable cross word puzzle player with anagrams and wordsearch puzzles. The hand writing parser is better than most, but still not perfect. Over all, this game is good but nothing special. I award it 3 out of 5 Hearts.

Leave a Reply

