Heroes of Kalevala

Posted: November 29, 2010 in 4 Hearts
Tags: ,

I really don’t know what to say…but I couldn’t help myself but download the demo for this. Its…a puzzle game…based on Finnish mythology. How often do you see anything about Finnish mythology? Imagine a bejeweled game with level objectives and ally heroes. Imagine that it also has a storyline and little villages that you have to keep happy in order to advance through the storyline. Did I mention you keep the villagers happy by buying them things with the gold you earn playing the puzzle? Its called Heroes of the Kalevala and was produced by Myth People. Its pretty neat. I enjoyed the first village, which was as far as I got before the demo time ran out.

The art is beautiful and the music is better than most game music I’ve heard. The gameplay was super simple, just click on two adjacent tiles to swap their location. Other than that, I have to wonder why I wasn’t just playing Bejeweled. It was like they took Bejeweled and made it as complicated as they possibly could. Every time I advanced to a new level, they introduce yet another new challenge to make my life more difficult until you get to the point where its ridiculous to even try…but you still have the chance of winning through randomization.

The randomization of the tiles, which important, was perhaps a little too random. Having a level go completely different because of the random assortment of tiles that came up, like from failure to epic victory with massive amounts of time bonus points. Other than that, it was pretty good.

And finally, the score. Heroes of the Kalevala was entertaining and had beautiful graphics, but the tile randomization was over the top and I still don’t know why you would pay for Bejeweled with storyline, but that might just be me. I award Heroes of the Kalevala with 4 out of 5 hearts. Not a terribly original game concept, but it was well done.

4/5 Hearts
If you’re interested in buying Heroes of the Kalevala or in trying the demo, its available in both PC and Mac version from http://www.bigfishgames.com/download-games/9215/heroes-of-kalevala/index.html

Leave a Reply

