Word Solitaire

Posted: December 3, 2010 in 4 Hearts
Tags:

Solitaire is fun, and I feel a little bad about having slammed the last solitaire game I reviewed. In my defense, the cat was trying to eat my soul. So, I found a new solitaire game and better yet, this one is an innovative concept: Word Solitaire by Candywriter.

The basic concept of Word Solitaire is that you’re trying to move the cards around to make words vertically. You get points for the letters in the word and the length of the word, sort of like Scrabble. I like how easy the cards are to read, and the fact that the dictionary is quite good. Although, the AI isn’t particularly smart sometimes and doesn’t let me stack letters that do in fact go together in a word that I’m trying to form.

I really like the way they set this game up. The background is nice to look at and also dark enough that the white cards are easily read. They also make it very clear right on the cards how much they’re worth in points. The graphics are simple, but well done.

In the demo, you can only play the first 20 levels of campaign mode, but there are another 200+ levels to explore along with online play with new levels every day. There’s also a quickplay that generates a new game based on how difficult you want it to be. If it wasn’t for online and quickplay modes, though, there wouldn’t be much re-playability once you beat campaign mode. Granted, beating campaign mode will take you a very, very long time, so this isn’t too much of a problem.

This was certainly a fun little game. Bonus points for the mascot not scaring the crap out of me. I’m a little sad the demo didn’t include quickplay, but you can’t have everything I guess. The graphics are good, the gameplay was good and the dictionary was pretty good. My only real complaint is the AI for letter placement has dumb moments which hinder play. So, I award Word Solitaire with a 4 out of 5 hearts. Well done!

4/5 HeartsIf you’re interested in buying Word Solitaire, you can find it at Candywriter’s website for $14.95.

Leave a Reply

