Amnesia : The Dark Descent

Posted: January 3, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Amnesia The Dark Descent is a survival horror game made from Frictional Games. I was really excited to find this game, since its one of the first 3d first person style games I’ve seen that is specifically available for Mac, PC and Linux. Along with being available for all three major operating systems, Amnesia has taken the first person video game in an interesting new direction and I approve wholeheartedly. One of my favorite things is the sound system. This game is designed for wearing headphones. The audio is able to sound like its coming from behind you or off to one side or the other. Its actually pretty amazing…and terrifying. So, imagine if you will, that you’re wandering around this old house in the dark, and you’re trying to kill a man. That’s the very basic concept that has been introduced in the demo portion of this game.

The graphics are amazing and quite realistic. I really love the way they did interacting with the world, where you can pick up and move pretty much everything. The only thing that can’t be moved is candles, but that’s for mechanics reasons. One of the major game mechanics is a sanity bar that goes down for pretty much everything. Are you in the dark? Sanity drain! Are you staring at a monster? Sanity drain! Did something weird and impossible happen? Sanity drain! Because of this, light is hard to come by, but you can still manage to get around and play, it just hits your sanity hard.

The voice overs and narration are well done and the transitions between areas are quite nice. One of the things I love about this game is that based on how far I’ve played so far, there have been no cut-scenes. According to their webpage, there are no cut-scenes at all, from the first time you take control of Daniel to the very end of the game. I love this idea because its very immersive, something which I wish more first person games could be. Despite the fact that your avatar in this world has motivations of his own, the fact that he has amnesia means that all he has to go on is what you know and what you find while going through the game. Its very well done.

Now, this is usually the part where I give a game a score and I apologize thoroughly. This game was amazing, but since I can’t seem to get through the demo because it scares the crap out of me, I can’t bring my self to give this game a score. Well, other than pants wetting scary. I suggest trying it for yourself. It can be found at http://www.amnesiagame.com/#main. I hope you enjoy it.

Comments
  1. Tokala says:

    It’s sad you couldn’t get through the demo, I barely could myself. I’m still only partway through the main game and every second I play it is so scary. Horror games are hard to do well, but this game does. Good review, and good luck on more of the game if you decide to try it!

Leave a Reply

