Fudge – A Universal Table Top System

Posted: March 28, 2011 in 5 Hearts
Tags: , ,

Sorry for the lack of posts lately, I’ve been quite sick. Well, now its time to talk about my new favorite toy : the Fudge system. I picked up the book for this at PAX East this year. I might have mentioned it.

justfudgeitThe great thing about Fudge is that you don’t really need to follow the rules, know the rules or even care about the rules. My favorite quote from the book was something to the tune of here’s a table you can use, if you like tables, and if you don’t, just make it up. I ran a game of Fudge during Gaming Weekend at school. The campaign has the intentions of continuing, but we haven’t yet due to outside forces. The characters involved are amazing. So, we have the fairly stereotypical bookish wizard with his familiar, an ermine named Vlad. Then we’ve got the energy manipulator who also happens to be a prostitute by night. Then the divine oracle who worships the stars and has something of a temper. And last but certainly not least, the druidic water bender. The characters were all made purely subjectively and the things on their character sheets are just the kinds of things that they think they should be able to do. And let me tell you, they can do some pretty wacky stuff. The quote from the session that has been bandied about the most, I think, is “We do not condone violence in this school! Mind crush!”. It was beautiful. The roleplaying in the session was way more than I tend to see in D&D and I really feel like Fudge helped. Especially since skills and attributes are recorded as “Good” or “Fair” or “Excellent” not as numbers like in other systems.

 

Fudge (role-playing game system)

Image via Wikipedia

I really like the concept of using Fudge dice, which have +, – and blank on the sides. It allows for the game to be much more subjective. I also house ruled out rolls for things that a player’s character should just be able to do. For example, a 7th year wizarding student should be able to cast a mage light without any trouble, so they just can. There’s still the possibility that they will backlash themselves. I use the fatigue table in the Fudge book to handle this effect and it works beautifully.

My players really loved this system and character creation didn’t take nearly as long as I’ve seen it take in other systems. It was largely them deciding what they wanted their character to be and coming up with skills based on that. My players used 2 of the 4-5 different magic systems presented in the book, and I’m considering writing a new one. Its an amazingly adaptable system, as evidenced by the community forums which can be found here. The Fudge system allows, no encourages, people to add their own content and to make custom content for their own settings. Fudge is inherently a rules-light, worldless system that focuses on the story, not the rules. But for people who like the feel of the D6 or the D20 or even diceless, there are rule sets for that. Its completely amazing.

Overall, I love Fudge, my players love Fudge. Fudge is truly the storytelling system I’ve been looking for. I hope that other people who like tabletops but hate rules can check it out and give it a try. I give Fudge a 5 out of 5. It has fulfilled my every hope and dream.

 

Comments
  1. […] I’m sure some of you know, I am a Fudge storyteller. I hesitate to say GM because my games are very much interactive stories with very […]

Leave a Reply

