Burn the City

Posted: June 6, 2011 in 2 Hearts
Tags:

To start off, sorry for the long absence, I’ve been quite sick, but things are looking up now (yay for antibiotic awesomeness). For my return, I found an interesting little game. I’m not entirely sure what to make of it based on the name but well…you’ll see.

Okay, sometimes I see a game title and I can’t not play it. This was definitely one of those cases. The basic idea appears to be that you are a dragon (I’m guessing its a dragon anyway) and you’re trying to burn a city to the ground. Pretty simple, right? So you click on the dragon and drag to make the top of your projectile arc and then release. This launches a fireball at the buildings and over time they burn to the ground or you can launch more and knock them over. The feel of it screams to me that it wasn’t made to be played on a computer, however. And based on the fact that its available in the Android app store, it probably wasn’t. I was surprised, however, to see that it was only in the Android store and on Kongregate.

I didn’t find the game to play terribly well on the computer, but I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt since it was clearly designed for the Android. The graphics are really visually appealing. Game play is very simple, and somewhat reminiscent of Angry Birds. I really liked the fact that you could hit a building and cause weak spots and then attack those points to bring the buildings down faster. There are 30 levels of play in the Kongregate version. I’m not sure how many exist in the Android version. It has a nice little button in the bottom left hand corner of the screen that allows you to refocus on the dragon for your next launch.

Here are the problems I had with this game. The controls were difficult to use and laggy. It was clearly not meant to be used on this platform and I doubt much was done to port it. There was very little challenge since there is no limit to how many shots you can take. Sure, your score is higher if you complete the level faster, but that’s an incentive not an impediment. I don’t like puzzle games that can be beaten by brute force and trial and error.

Overall, I’m not really impressed. The name was exciting but the gameplay left me wanting more and not just because there were so few levels. It was laggy and not terribly interesting. The music was also pretty annoying. If you want to try playing it, I highly suggest mute if anyone else is around because they will not thank you for the music. I guess I just was hoping for more from a game with such an awesome title. So, Burn the City, I’m sad to say you get a 2 out of 5 hearts.

If you are interested in playing Burn the City, you can find it on Kongregate here.

Leave a Reply

