8Realms : the closed beta

Posted: June 15, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

So I was poking through the internet when I stumbled upon a beta key for a closed beta for a game called 8Realms. It seems at first glance to be yet another village building game. The interesting twist here is that you are building your city through the ages, starting with the stone age and progressing forwards by researching technology and developing culture. When researching technology, you slowly move forward through the ages.

I have to say that so far I’m really enjoying this game, though I’m a bit confused. I think that this might be either the first single player city builder I’ve found or the server is just really low population. There doesn’t appear to be a chatbox anywhere, which is one of the things leading me to believe single player. There are, however, forums. So its completely up in the air.

There are two things about this game that I really like: the technology development and the Wonders. Building Wonders gives you special bonuses. Each Wonder has different requirements and different bonuses. The technology development is done through research in the library, a building you can construct. Its through this and the completion of tasks that you can move on the the next era.

I’m being cautiously optimistic here, this being a beta test and all, but 8Realms is looking like a very well made game. I recommend trying to get into the beta or trying it out when it goes live. I know I haven’t said much but that’s because while there isn’t much to say, its all good. I’ve only encountered one bug so far and it was easily fixed. The UI is well designed and easy to use, the graphics are really nice. It seems like they put a lot of work into making this game and I approve. I give 8Realms a 4 out of 5 hearts. They’d better not fail me and tank after coming out of beta.

4/5 Hearts

Leave a Reply

