Microbe Kombat

Posted: August 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Greetings my patient readers, I’m taking some of my time off this evening to post a review for an interesting flash game I found while wafting through the internet. Its called Microbe Kombat. It rather reminds me of Osmos, but on a much more simple to play level. The basic idea is that you’re playing a microbe and you’re trying to eat proteins and other microbes. If you succeed in wiping out the other types of microbes on a given level, you beat that level.

You control your little microbe with the mouse and swim around collecting proteins to get bigger. Then you can eat smaller microbes and use special powers. The AI isn’t very smart, since every time it hits the maximum size, it splits itself into two smaller microbes and then I just eat it. There are several levels but the game still seems quite short because of how fast paced it is.

There were some really annoying glitches when I was playing. In particular was the false protein. See that lovely red circle in the middle of the above image? Yeah…not a real protein. That was a very very very annoying bug. I found the mechanics to be pretty simple and the controls were usually easy to use.

Overall, I was underwhelmed by Microbe Kombat. The concept was intriguing but the game didn’t match up with what I was hoping for. Microbe Kombat gets an unimpressive 2 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

