Nintendo 3DS

Posted: December 26, 2011 in 4.5 Hearts
Tags: ,

I’ve had my little 3DS for a couple months now so I feel like its about time I do a review of the little fellow. First up: the basics. The 3DS comes in 3 different colors, has a touch screen on the bottom half and sports a directional pad and joystick, alongside the start, home, select and x, y, a, b buttons on the front. There are also L and R shoulder buttons, leaving this unit capable of having some pretty complex behaviors, even before you add in the endless behaviors you can add once you start using the 3 cameras and the accelerometers.

My favorite upgrade from the earlier generations of DS is a little silly, I have to admit. The stylus is collapsable. Meaning that now I get a stylus that fits my hand and can collapse down to fit inside the DS unit snugly so it won’t get lost. It also comes preloaded with a bunch of really neat software like an internet browser, AR games, a camera that can take pictures in 2D or 3D, an e-store and it periodically updates itself for newly available free software if you have an internet connection.

The 3D is really quite nice, I wish I could show you pictures. One of the really nice features is a slider on the right of the top screen that allows you to turn up and down the amount of 3D that is being displayed, all the way down to off. That is startlingly useful since playing for too long can result in headaches. Also, DS games from before the advent of 3D can still be played, it just automatically turns the 3D off.

So far I’ve been playing Ocarina of Time 3D and Super Mario 3D Land. Both are extremely good, though I’ve had some trouble with the archery range in the Ocarina of Time. It requires you to aim at the targets by moving the unit around, which invariably ends up with me contorted in some very odd positions because of how I play (lying down with the unit in my lap). Over all, I love the system and the fact that they just keep putting out more free content for it.

Nintendo 3DS

Image by Dekuwa via Flickr

In light of that, I award the Nintendo 3DS with 4.5 out of 5 hearts. It has very few flaws, mostly the fact that the 3D technology results in headaches after more than an hour or so of use for most users.

4.5 out of 5 zelda hearts

Leave a Reply

