Bloons Tower Defense 5

Posted: September 19, 2012 in 4.5 Hearts
Tags: ,

Hey guys! I know I totally dropped off the face of the earth for a while there. I graduated from college and have been spending my time trying desperately to get a job. There was also a period of about 2 weeks where I lacked internet and that made it really hard to get back into the routine. But I’m back and ready to go. To get back into the swing of things, I’ll be talking about a game in a series I absolutely love. I love tower defense games with a passion, particularly Ninja Kiwi’s Bloons Tower Defense series. With the 5th in the series available on Kongregate, I figured I should tell everyone about it.

As with other games in the Bloons Tower Defense series, the story line is that you’re helping the monkeys fight the bloons which are tying to invade their land. To do this, you have an arsenal of darts at your disposal, and a few other more interesting weapons too. In Version 5, there are some new towers, Special Agents and a way to upgrade one type of tower outside of a map. Some of the new towers include the ninja and the sniper monkey. They also tweaked the upgrade method to have two distinct paths of 4 upgrades. You can only get all 4 upgrades in one of the two paths and 2 in the other, but its up to you to pick. The towers also have to be used in order to make all the upgrades available.

Special Agents are a truly new aspect of this game. The basic idea is that you use Monkey Money to purchase Special Agents which are special towers or effects that can help you with a map. Monkey Money can be gained either by opening the chest on the menu screen daily or by beating maps on various difficulties. Completely challenges also rewards Monkey Money. Another use for Monkey Money is specialty buildings which allow you to have permanent upgrades for your towers.

As with every time they make a new Bloons Tower Defense, the graphics improve wonderfully. The graphics are a lot crisper and their style is very coherent. I really like the look of everything, it looks very professional. I mean, compare that to the picture below from one of the older games.

Bloons TD

Bloons TD (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I really love Tower Defense games and this series has a long tradition of being excellent. They’ve added a ton of new things and kept everything about the series that I like. Well done, Ninja Kiwi, well done indeed. I award Bloons tower Defense 5 a 4.5 out of 5 hearts.

4.5 out of 5 zelda heartsIf you’re interested in playing Bloons Tower Defense 5, you can find it here on Kongregate or here on the Ninja Kiwi website.

Leave a Reply

